Georgian International Arbitration Centre is

First non-profit arbitration institution in Georgia, which is created based on the best international arbitration practice. GIAC represents most efficient dispute resolution institution in the entire Caucasus – Black Sea – Caspian Region. The GIAC Arbitration Rules reflect the needs of the parties combining recent developments in the field.

The Commission for Final Revision of the GIAC Arbitration Rules

The Commission for Final Revision of the GIAC Arbitration Rules was created by the recommendation of the experts involved in the formation process of the Georgian International Arbitration Centre and its final composition was approved on 25 April 2014. The members of this Commission are internationally renowned and recognized arbitration experts and practitioners. This ensures that the GIAC Arbitration Rules are drafted based on the modern standards and best arbitration practices, and signals its reliability and recognition.

The working version of the Arbitration Rules was sent to the Commission on 1 May 2014 and accordingly, the Commission started the process of revision. The Commission has organized several working sessions during the summer of 2014 and prepared the final draft of the revised GIAC Arbitration Rules.


The members of the Commission for Final Revision of the GIAC Arbitration Rules are:

Prof. Gabrielle Kaufmann-Kohler
Levy Kaufmann-Kohler, Partner; University of Geneva (Geneva)

Mr. Brooks W. Daly
Permanent Court of Arbitration, Deputy Secretary General and Principal Legal Counsel (The Hague)

Mr. Charles Nairac
Withe & Case, Partner (Paris)

Mr. Timothy J. Lindsay
Lindsay LA, Director (Wellington)

Ms. Ana Stanic
E&A Law  Limited, Partner (London)

Mr. Nicola Mariani
Dechert LLP, Partner (Tbilisi)

Ms. Kirsten Odynski
White & Case, Associate (Paris)

Ms. Ketevan Betaneli
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP, Knowledge Lawyer (Paris)

Ms. Mariam Gotsiridze
Ministry of Justice of Georgia (Tbilisi)

Mr. Beka Injia
Georgian International Arbitration Centre, Secretary General (Tbilisi)

Dr. Yas Banifatemy (Chair)
Shearman & Sterling LLP, Partner (Paris)